My Development Blog

My Development experiences

Visual Studio – File Navigation Extension

Posted by ipwright83 on May 30, 2012

One of the most frustrating things I found when I upgraded to Visual Studio 2010 was the navigation. I work with a fairly large solution with hundreds of files, many of which I can’t locate via the solution explorer as I just can’t remember where they are. To make this harder, sometimes the file names don’t match the class names and other times the name is the compound of several words that I can’t quite remember the combination of.

Within Visual Studio 2008 I used to use Resharper, and I almost exclusively used this for the file searching capabilties. It was quick and supported camel case searching. I’d previously used other solutions but found them to be slower and not as lightweight. Once I upgraded to VS2010 however I found that the search had been disabled in the express version.

Not wanting to sacrifice the brilliant searching I decided to write my own Visual Studio addin (I found this much harder than I anticipated, hence the extension doesn’t get many updates). It does exactly what I wanted, in a performant way and is avaliable to anyone who wants it. It allows searching by name or camel case and supports wildcards, with filtering as you type and highlighting of the matching criteria, bumping the best matches to the top of the list.

Image

You can find the shortcut under the ‘Edit->Find and Replace->VS File Nav’ option and can re-bind the shortcut using Edit.VSFileNav.

Feel free to have a play and leave some feedback.

Visual Studio Gallery – VSFileNav

Leave a Reply

 
